Webinar: The Buzz at OSC - "Green" Honey Harvesting

OSC Webinar: Wednesday, July 17th at 9AM (Eastern) - 6AM (Pacific)
 

"Green" Honey Harvesting with Alex Zomchek.

Alex has been a beekeeper for 40+ years and is an active researcher, lecturer, and instructor.  He is the apiculturist for Miami University and a Master Beekeeper Instructor with the Ohio State Beekeepers Association.

"Green" Honey Harvesting is intended as a whimsical yet purposeful play on unique honeys, honey harvesting and processing.  There are literally green colored honeys from various thistle plants.  Unripened honey is sometimes referred to as "green".  Alex will discuss how to properly assess if your honey is ripe enough for extraction using the shake method and the more sophisticated refractometer.  Lastly, he will discuss using "green" energy tips and tricks to process honey and wax including building a solar wax melter and using your car to decrystallize honey and remove the bloom from wax candles.

To Join this free webinar, follow the link and LOG IN AS A GUEST at about 8:55AM (Eastern) 5:55AM (Pacific)
go.osu.edu/theOSUbuzz

To access via iPad or iPhone, download the Adobe Connect app.

This and each monthly webinar will be recorded and archived on the  OSU Bee Lab website the day of the session. Hope you can join the July webinar!